Upper Arlington City Schools News Article

2021 Alumni Awards and Educator Hall of Fame

The Upper Arlington Alumni Association and Upper Arlington Schools are pleased to announce the alumni and retired educators who have been selected for the 2021 Alumni Awards and 2021 Educator Hall of Fame, respectively. These individuals will be recognized this summer at an awards presentation during the Alumni Association Open House on July 2. The open house will be held from 1 to 4 p.m., with the awards presentation at 2:30 p.m.

2021 Alumni Awards

Outstanding and Distinguished Alumnus Awards have been presented annually since 1993 and have honored many accomplished graduates.  In 2021 UAAA announced the Inspirational Young Alumnus Award. This new award was inspired by the current UAAA board, which includes 13 graduates ranging from the class of 1965 to 2014. 

  • Outstanding Alumnus Award: Roger Curnow, Class of 1965

  • Distinguished Alumnus Awards: Rinehart “Riney” Wilke IV, Class of 1981, and Debra Graves Livingston, Class of 1973

  • Inspirational Young Alumnus Award: Jake Borelli, Class of 2009

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2022 alumni awards online at www.bearalums.com, and recipients will be announced and recognized at the ceremony this summer. Also being honored are the recipients of the 2020 alumni awards: Outstanding Alumnus Aimee Moulakis White, Class of 1993; Distinguished Alumnus Kent Beittel, Class of 1965; and all Upper Arlington alumni who serve as essential workers. 

2021 Educator Hall of Fame

The Educator Hall of Fame was established in 2007 by former UAHS Principal and current Upper Arlington City Council President and Mayor Kip Greenhill to honor “the best of the best” teachers in the district. The following four retired teachers were nominated by their peers and selected by a group representing teachers and alumni for induction into the Hall of Fame:

  • Diane Haddad, language arts, Upper Arlington High School

  • James Lambourne, science, Upper Arlington High School

  • Bill Richards, history, Hastings Middle School

  • Kevin Stotts, language arts, Upper Arlington High School

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2022 Educator Hall of Fame honorees, who will also be announced and recognized in July. To submit a nomination, please visit www.uaschools.org/EducatorHallofFame.aspx.  

Print This Article
View text-based website