Educator Hall of Fame

For 100 years Upper Arlington students have benefited from the talent, dedication and skill of some of the highest quality teachers in the world.  To honor the best of the best among high school teachers, the Educator Hall of Fame was established at Upper Arlington High School in 2007, by then Principal, Kip Greenhill.  As the district enters its second century, the Educator Hall of Fame is expanding to include teachers and administrators  of all grade levels, preschool through grade 12.  

To be eligible for the Educator Hall of Fame, the nominee must:

  • Have served as a full-time educator in Upper Arlington Schools for at least seven years;

  • Have been retired from Upper Arlington Schools for at least five years;

  • Have achievements in education that have distinguished the nominee from contemporaries.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2023 induction class through March 31, 2023. 

You may submit your nomination through the online form or the printable form in the Downloads section of this page. Please provide as many details as possible about your nominee. Supplemental documentation is encouraged (though not required) and may include letters of support, some biographical information, a resume and news articles. Nominations may be submitted by any individual, but preference will be given to those from former colleagues and students of the nominee.

The printed form may be submitted to [email protected] or to the district office at 1619 Zollinger Road. If you have any questions about the Educator Hall of Fame, please contact [email protected] or (614) 487-5000.  

Hall of Fame inductees


Kay Barr, global language, Upper Arlington High School, Hastings Middle School and Jones Middle School
Frank Cole, language arts, Upper Arlington High School
Donald Valentine, orchestra, district


Arthur Lowell "A.L." Guesman, principal, Jones and Hastings junior high schools and Upper Arlington High School
Lisa Markovichglobal language, Upper Arlington High School
Kim Rhodes, social studies, Jones Middle School


Diane Haddadlanguage arts, Upper Arlington High School
F James Lambourne, science, Upper Arlington High School 
Bill Richardssocial studies, Hastings Middle School
Kevin Stotts, language arts, Upper Arlington High School


Joe Conley, media teacher, UAHS 
Bonnie Emery, teacher, Barrington Elementary School 
Virginia Gardier, librarian, Burbank Early Childhood School and Greensview Elementary School
Elizabeth "Betsy" Miller, language Arts, UAHS 
Dan Sebastian, history and government, UAHS 


Bruce Brombacher, math, Jones Middle School
Joe Caruso, math and science, Jones and UAHS
Ellen Erlanger, social studies, Jones; administrator, UA Schools
Sharon Whaley, intervention specialist, Jones


 Dr. Virginia Ballinger, Spanish, UAHS
Francis “Kip” Greenhill, principal, UAHS
Randy Pfeiffer, English, UAHS
Margaret Schultz, Latin, UAHS
Peggy Sheets, chemistry, UAHS
Helen Tanner, English, UAHS


Shirley Behnke, journalism, UAHS
Robert Ginther, band director, UAHS
Jean Guddat, English, UAHS
Ellis Lutz, English, UAHS
Marv Moorehead, head football coach, UAHS
David Shelby, UAHS Principal
Pat Stewart, government, Assistant Principal, UAHS
Phil Wagner, English, UAHS


Dr. James Allen, English, UAHS
Walter Heischman, UA Schools Superintendent
Lester Jackson, geometry, UAHS
Richard Larkin, chemistry, UAHS
Vera K. Randall, English, UAHS
Charles Will, English, UAHS
View text-based website